November 29, 2023
Chicago 12, Melborne City, USA

Sri Lanka finalize 15-member squad for Pakistan Tests

The Test squad for Sri Lanka’s upcoming two-match series against Pakistan, set to begin on July 16 in Galle, has been finalized.

The official announcement of the squad will occur once it receives approval from the Sports Minister.

Ramesh Mendis and Prabath Jayasuriya will spearhead the spin attack, as the selectors have decided to exclude left-arm spinner Lasith Embuldeniya and replace him with Praveen Jayawickrama.

The squad will include three pacers: Asitha Fernando, Vishwa Fernando, and Kasun Rajitha. However, it has been revealed that Asitha, who is currently recovering from dengue fever, will only be available for the second Test. In his absence, left-arm seamer, Dilshan Madushanka, is expected to take his place.

The batting line-up will consist of players who recently participated in the series against Ireland, meaning Pathum Nissanka will not be part of the squad. The selectors have chosen Nishan Madushka to open the batting alongside skipper, Dimuth Karunaratne.

Please note that the Sri Lanka Test squad mentioned below is subject to approval from the Sports Minister.

Squad: Dimuth Karunaratne (captain), Kusal Mendis, Angelo Mathews, Dinesh Chandimal, Dhananjaya de Silva, Kamindu Mendis, Nishan Madushka (wk), Sadeera Samarawickrama, Ramesh Mendis, Prabath Jayasuriya, Lakshitha Manasinghe, Praveen Jayawickrama, Asitha Fernando/Dilshan Madushka, Vishwa Fernando, and Kasun Rajitha.

Meanwhile, the Pakistan cricket team landed in Colombo, Sri Lanka, on Sunday and are scheduled to travel to Hambantota on Monday, where they will play a two-day warm-up match on July 11 and 12.

Schedule of Pakistan’s tour of Sri Lanka

July 11-12: Two-day match in Hambantota

July 16-20: First Test at Galle International Cricket Stadium

July 24-28: Second Test at Singhalese Sports Club, Colombo

Pakistan squad

Babar Azam (c), Mohammad Rizwan (vc & wk), Aamir Jamal, Abdullah Shafique, Abrar Ahmed, Hasan Ali, Imam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Huraira, Mohammad Nawaz, Naseem Shah, Noman Ali, Salman Ali Agha, Sarfaraz Ahmed (wk), Saud Shakeel, Shaheen Afridi and Shan Masood

Leave feedback about this

  • Quality
  • Price
  • Service


Add Field


Add Field
Choose Image
Choose Video